The Eleventh Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectual Design Excellence 2009
Berkeley Prize 2009

Stage 2: Semifinalists

We are happy to announce that 23 contestants have advanced to the Semifinalist round (Stage Two) of the Berkeley Prize 2009 competition. Architecture students from 22 countries entered this year's competition. Semifinalists are invited to submit a 2500-word essay based on their 500-word Proposal. The top five to seven essays will be selected for final judging by the Berkeley Prize Jury.


Hannah Allawi, The American University of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

Hajir Alttahir, Manchester School of Architecture, UK

Reem Alwahabi, The American University of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

Caitlin Dittman, University of Queensland, Australia

Aaron Dresben, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Luat Duong, University of Arizona, USA

Jedidiah Gordon-Moran, Dalhousie University, Canada

Akshay Goyal, Birla Institute of Technology, MESRA, Ranchi, India

Kanchane Gunawardena, University of Bath, UK

Matthew Hartney and Matthew Barbesin, University of Waterloo, Canada

Sharayah Jimenez, University of Arizona, USA

Neelakshi Joshi, Birla Institute of Technology, MESRA, Ranchi, India

Brian Lee and Anna Asuncion, University of Santo Tomas, Philippines

Cristina Lorie, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, USA

Guy Mambo, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda

Dominic Mathew, Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra, Ranchi, India

Tyler Rozicki, Dalhousie University, Canada

Isona Shibata, University of Sheffield, UK

Adam Smith, Dalhousie University, Canada

Summer Sutton, Cornell University, USA

Vesna Trobec, University of Sydney, Australia

Robert Ungar, Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design, Israel

Pragnya Varma and Sarah Kantrowitz, D. Y. Patil College of Architecture and Reed College, India and USA

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
J.M. Tjibaou Cultural Centre, Nouméa, New Caledonia ©Pantz Pierre-Alain
Copyright © 1998-2024 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.