The Fourteenth Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectual Design Excellence 2012
Berkeley Prize 2012

Winning Essays

Winners of the Fourteenth Annual BERKELEY PRIZE Essay Competition are announced today by Professor Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence. This year there is one First Prize, one Second Prize and two Third Prize Winners. 

First Prize

Loh Kin Kit and Phoaw Yen ShanNational University of Singapore, Singapore: "The Greatest Public Good is Public Space" (4000USD)
Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Second Prize

Bryans MukasaUganda Martyr's University, Kampala, Uganda: "Suubi; The Architecture of Hope" (3500USD)
Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Third Prize (tie)

Gauri MathurBirla Institute of Technology, Mesra, Ranchi, India: "Jawahar Kala Kendra- The Artist's Haven" (2500USD)
Read Bio Read Proposal | Read Essay

Third Prize (tie)

Emma SurvisUniversity of Arizona, Tuscon, Arizona, USA: "Gaining Identity" (2500USD)
Read Bio | Read Proposal | Read Essay


Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Mills Building, South Carolina State Hospital, 1827, ROBERT MILLS, Architect
Copyright © 1998-2024 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.