The Twelfth Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectual Design Excellence 2010
Berkeley Prize 2010

Winning Essays

Winners of the Twelfth Annual BERKELEY PRIZE Essay Competition are announced today by Professor Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence. This year there is a First, Second, and Third Prize Winner. In addition, two essays have been awarded Honorable Mentions in a special recognition of the authors' efforts.

First Prize

Ms. Ishanie Niyogi, Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra, India: "The Story of a Prison Cell" (US4500)
Read Introduction | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Second Prize

Ms.Tara Gaskin, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada: "The Confederacy Council House at Six Nations Reserve No. 40: A Monument to First Nations Culture and Community" (US3000)
Read Introduction | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Third Prize

Ms. Aimee Sunny, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana, USA: "A High Price for Grandeur" (US2000)
Read Introduction | Read Proposal | Read Essay

Honorable Mentions

Mr. Yi?itcan Karanfil, Bahçe?ehir University, Istanbul, Turkey: "Why Would Haydarpa?a Ever Need to be Somewhere Else?" (US500)
Read Introduction

Ms. Mehrnoosh Khalooghi, Islamic Azad University of Qazvin and Mr. Ehsan Sakhinia, Islamic Azad University of Ahar, Iran: "The Silk Road Caravansaries: The Forgotten National Identity" (US500)
Read Introduction

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Copyright © 1998-2024 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.