The Fifth Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectual Design Excellence 2003
Berkeley Prize 2003


BRIT ANDRESEN, UNIVERSITY OF QUEENSLAND, BRISBANE AUSTRALIA Norwegian architect Brit Andresen teaches and practices architecture in Brisbane, Australia. She has been awarded the 2002 Gold Medal of the Royal Australian Institute of Architects, the first woman to be so honored. After competing her architectural studies in Norway she was awarded a scholarship to study housing in The Netherlands and subsequently began practice in Great Britain where she won the competition for the Burrell Museum in Glasgow with John Meunier and Barry Gasson. Andresen taught architecture part-time at Cambridge University and at the Architectural Association before traveling to Australia to teach at the University of Queensland with periods at UCLA as a visiting professor. Projects from the architectural partnership of Brit Andresen and Peter O'Gorman include timber houses that explore the expressive capacity of materials and the potential for relations with the landscape.

FRANCESCO BANDARIN, UNESCO, PARIS, FRANCE Director of UNESCO World Heritage, Francesco Bandarin is a graduate of the University Institute of Architecture, Venice and received a Master's degree in City and Regional Planning from the University of California, Berkeley. He is currently on leave from his position as Professor in the School of Planning in Venice. His two decades of experience in urban and environmental project design include the International Campaign for the Safeguarding of Venice (1995-2000), and technical director for Jubilee Year 2000 celebrations for the City of Rome. He is also a consultant to the World Bank in urban management and cultural heritage conservation, and has conducted research and training programs as well as lectured at many universities in Italy, the United States, and the developing world.

JO NOERO, UNIVERSITY OF CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA Professor of Architecture and Director of the School of Architecture and Planning at the University of Cape Town, South Africa, Jo Noero was educated as an architect at the University of Natal, South Africa, he holds an M. Phil. from the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom. He has previously held tenured positions at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa and Washington University, St. Louis, USA. In private practice as Jo Noero Architects in Johannesburg, South Africa from 1984 to 1998, and now in the firm of Noero Wolff Architects in Cape Town, South Africa since then, he has won several major architectural awards, and was recently awarded first prize in an open competition for the design of the Museum of Apartheid in Red Location, Port Elizabeth, South Africa. He has lectured in Europe, the United States and Africa on his work, which has also been widely published and exhibited.

BRIGITTE SHIM, UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO, CANADA A principal of Shim-Sutcliffe Architects in Toronto, Canada, Brigitte Shim is also Associate Professor in the Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design at the University of Toronto. Born in Kingston, Jamaica, she was educated at the University of Waterloo, Canada. Her architecture and design firm specializes in the integration of furniture, architecture and landscape design, and has won numerous design awards. Shim has also taught at the Ecole Polytechnique Federal de Lausanne (Switzerland), as well as Yale and Harvard Universities in the United States and has also lectured throughout Canada, the United States, and New Zealand. Her firm's work has been widely published and exhibited. Among her honors are an American Institute of Architects Education Honors Award and six Royal Institute of Canada Governor General's Medals.

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Noero: Hout Bay House Cape Town, South Africa
Copyright © 1998-2024 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.