The Third Annual Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectual Design Excellence 2001
Berkeley Prize 2001

Winning Essays

Representing undergraduate students in American, Australian, and Canadian schools of architecture, 6 winners were selected from the 9 finalists by the Berkeley Prize Jury

2001 Berkeley Prize Competition Commentary
by John Cary Jr.

First Prize

Christopher Holmes, Faculty of Architecture, Dalhousie University, Canada

Second Prize

Ashley Paine, School of Architecture, Interior and Industrial Design Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Third Prize

Alix Ogilvie, College of Architecture and Planning, Ball State University, United States

Honorable Mentions

David Foxe, Department of Architecture, School of Architecture Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
Read Essay

John Sharpe, Facility of Built Environment Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Read Essay

Sara Stevsen, Architecture Department, Rice University, United States

Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence Competition 2001 Winners Announced

Professor Raymond Lifchez, Chair of the BERKELEY PRIZE Committee, today announced three winners in the third annual BERKELEY UNDERGRADUATE PRIZE FOR ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN EXCELLENCE Competition, sponsored by the Department of Architecture at the University of California, Berkeley.

The prizes were given for the best essays written on this year's topic, "Considering what has been, and contemplating what might be, what principles and objectives should guide architects committed to the concept that Architecture is a Social Art?" Undergraduates studying architectural design in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the Republic of Ireland, the United Kingdom and the United States were invited to participate in the competition via the Internet. This year's competition was dedicated to Aldo van Eyck (1918-1999), the Dutch architect, teacher and writer who exemplified the commitment to architecture as a social art.

First place ($2000.00) is awarded to Christopher Holmes, a fourth-year student in the Faculty of Architecture, Dalhousie University (Canada) for his essay on a call for balance in the world of architecture. Second place ($1000.00) goes to Ashley Paine, a fifth-year undergraduate in the School of Architecture, Queensland University of Technology (Australia), for his essay "Architecture as a Collaborative Philosophy (or Why Architecture is not a Social Art)." Alix Ogilvie, a fifth year student in the College of Architecture and Planning at Ball State University (United States), places third ($500.00) for her essay describing the social art of architecture as a question of values. The three winning essays will be posted on the website. Three honorable mentions, and a copy of Francis Strauven's Aldo van Eyck: The Shape of Relativity (1998), go to David Foxe, MIT (United States), John Sharpe, Queensland University of Technology (Australia), and Sara Stevens, Rice University (United States).

The winners were chosen from a group of nine Finalists by a Jury comprised of Professor Roberta Feldman, University of Illinois, Chicago Circle; Professor Emeritus Peter Prangnell, University of Toronto, and Professor Anthony Schuman of the New Jersey Institute of Technology.

There were 74 eligible entries for the BERKELEY UNDERGRADUATE PRIZE 2001 representing a total of thirty-four academic institutions. To qualify, students submitted an abstract of their papers. Twenty-four Semifinalists were selected, and asked to expand their statement into a 1500 word essay.

Additional Help and Information

Are you in need of assistance? Please email
Aldo Van Eyck, Hubertus House, Home for Single Parents and Their Children, Amsterdam, (1973-75, built 1976-78) stair detail.
Copyright © 1998-2024 Berkeley Undergraduate Prize for Architectural Design Excellence
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
For permission for any form of re-use of any of the contents, please contact
The BERKELEY PRIZE is endorsed by the Department of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.